Mom’s Cherry Pudding

What a treasure to have Mom’s recipe box! It not only holds all her wonderful recipes, but so many wonderful memories. Although this was not my favorite, it was a huge hit at all the family get-togethers. On the back of the recipe card Mom wrote, “Alice Kimmel’s Recipe 1939.” Alice Kimmel was the wife of a prominent judge from DuQuoin. When Mom’s dad forced her to quit high school in order to help support the family, Mom worked as a maid for the Kimmels. She always says the Kimmels were her education. They took Mom under their wing and helped her learn so many things about running a household, cooking, etc. As the daughter of a great woman and mom, I thank you Kimmels for the part you played in making Daphne Morgan the mother and role model she has been for me. Here is the recipe:

CHERRY PUDDING

Filling:

2 cups cherries                  1 cup sugar
1 cup boiling water           small piece butter

Batter:

1 cup sugar                                butter (size of an egg)
1 cup nuts                                 2 (slight) teaspoons baking powders
1 1/2 cups flour to make thin batter

Pour filling into batter. Do not stir. Bake in moderate oven 25 to 30 minutes. Add pecans.
Serve with whipped cream.

About Kathi

I like to think of myself as a "Grandma with an Edge." I continue to be curious about the world around me, the people who live in it and the things that make me go, "huh?" I'm a retired social worker(yes, that explains part of the curiosity) who loves to spend time with family, travel, quilt, cook and many other things on my list that I have yet to pursue. Life is short! Enough of this, I'm busy!
This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment